Tuesday, September 6, 2022


The Certified in Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT) certification is a vendor-neutral certification offered through the ISACA. It's designed for IT professionals in large organizations who are responsible for directing, managing and supporting the governance of IT.

The exam consists of 150 multiple-choice questions and you'll have four hours to complete the in-person exam. Testing locations can be found through PSI Online and, depending on your location, you'll likely be able to choose between a testing center or a kiosk. At a testing center, you'll take a live proctored exam with other exam-takers, but at a kiosk location, you'll take the exam alone at a small work station in a "managed, yet self-service way." The ISACA offers more information on each testing experience to help you choose the best option for you.

[ Get ahead with the top certs for big data, project management, agile, data science, IT management and the cloud, as well as the top-paying certs and emerging certifications for today's hottest skills. | Get weekly career tips by signing up for our CIO Leader newsletter. ]

Exams are offered during three specific testing windows during the year — the first testing window in 2019 will run from February 1 to May 24. The two other testing windows for 2019 haven't been announced yet, but they typically run for three-month periods.

What's on the CGEIT exam?
The ISACA organizes the exam by five main CGEIT domains, which includes:

Domain 1: Framework for the governance of enterprise IT (25% of the exam)
Domain 2: Strategic management (20% of the exam)
Domain 3: Benefits realization (16% of the exam)
Domain 4: Risk optimization (24% of the exam)
Domain 5: Resource optimization (15% of the exam)
Domain 1 includes establishing a framework for governance of enterprise IT that helps the organization realize its goals and objectives, while considering risk and optimization. It also covers all the basic requirements, policies, principles, processes, organizational structures, infrastructure, skills and competencies necessary to build, oversee, and manage a framework IT governance.

Domain 2 focuses on aligning IT with enterprise objectives creating a strategic plan that helps the organization understand how changes to business strategy will impact IT strategy. This domain covers knowledge of IT roles and responsibilities, prioritization processes, documentation and communication methods, potential barriers for strategic alignment and current and future technologies.

Domain 3 covers benefits realization, which is the process of managing, tracking and reporting on the performance of IT investments to ensure they deliver optimized business benefits. This domain includes knowledge of KPIs, benefit calculation techniques, how to measure and monitor outcome and performance, and knowledge of continuous improvement concepts and principles.

Domain 4 encompasses risk optimization, which is the process of ensuring IT risk management frameworks help identify, analyze, mitigate, manage, monitor and communicate IT-related business risk and that they're aligned with the enterprise risk management (ERM) framework. Risk optimization also includes an understanding of appropriate legal and compliance regulations and the ability to communicate risk to senior-level executives. You'll need knowledge of disaster recovery planning (DRP), business continuity planning (BCP), standard risk management frameworks, key risk indicators (KRIs) and the skills to report on analytical data.

Domain 5 covers the optimization of IT resources, including information, services, infrastructure and applications, and people. This domain includes everything you need to know to ensure the correct processes are in place to reach enterprise goals. You'll need knowledge of IT resource management, service level agreements (SLAs), operation level agreements (OLAs) and data management and data governance.  

For a more in-depth look at the tasks and knowledge areas for each domain, you can visit the ISACA website.

CGEIT qualifications
To qualify for the exam, you'll need at least five years of relevant work experience with one year working in Domain 1 (managing frameworks) and the other four years spent working in at least two out of the five other domains. You won't have to take a course to pass the CGEIT; instead your work experience and background serve as your CGEIT education. This certification is designed for professionals who have "significant management, advisory, or assurance role relating to the governance of IT and the knowledge required to perform these tasks," according to the ISACA

Undangan Mengajar silahkan hubungi
Hery Purnama
Whatsapp : 081-223344-506


Post a Comment

Silahkan isikan comment box untuk komentar Anda..